The Shelby County Sheriff's Office oversees three (3) divisions of Courts. Civil Courts are located in the historic Shelby County Courthouse in Memphis, Tennessee.

The “Old Courthouse” is a national landmark and is placed on the registry of historical landmarks for the State of Tennessee. Please Visit our Civil Courts page and view a Photo Gallery of Our Historic “Old Courthouse” and learn more about Civil Courts.

Two (2) more Court Divisions are located in the “Old Courthouse” and in the Criminal Justice Center at 201 Poplar Avenue, downtown Memphis, Tennessee.

Criminal Courts Division

Scale of JusticeThe Criminal Courts Division officers are responsible for providing a safe courtroom environment for judges, court personnel, attorneys, and the general public.

Our Criminal Courts page has info on all ten (10) Criminal Courts divisions and a list of the current judges.

Learn more...

GavelThe Civil Field / Levy Division's primary objective is to provide professional and efficient services in executing and returning civil process as ordered by the respective courts of Shelby County, Tennessee.


See the Frequently Asked Questions for Civil Field/Levy to get answers to important questions you may have about this court divison.


Contact Info

Civil Courts
140 Adams Avenue
Phone: (901) 222-3400

Criminal Courts Clerk
201 Poplar Avenue
4th Floor
Phone: (901) 222-3200

General Sessions Criminal Courts Clerk
201 Poplar Avenue
Phone: (901) 222-3673


Civil Field / Levy FAQ

Lookup Resources

Court Lookup

Gen. Sessions Courts